Skip to content

Indoor vs. Outdoor: What Kind of Runner Are You?

January 16, 2010

There is no doubt about it – – there are two types of runners in this world, the indoor runners and the outdoor runners. Now the question is, which one are you?

Personally, I’ve always been an outdoor runner. One of my favorite things to do is to go outside, in the fresh air, and just run. I feel so free…like the whole world ahead of me. I can decide where to go, what to look at, what type of terrain to run my feet on.. for me, it’s freedom.

I love to explore new places on my runs, even if it includes getting a little lost. I’ve learned (more than often the hard way) that there is no better way to learn new territory than by getting out on your own two feet and getting turned around a time or two.

Don’t get me wrong, I am in no way, shape, or form opposed to indoor running. It’s just not for me. But it’s great for a lot of people because it may be more convienient, not weather-dependent, and easier on the feet. And for those of us type-A personalities who like to know exactly how far we are going, at what speed, and how many calories we are burning, a treadmill couldn’t be better.

For me, what’s most exhilarating about outdoor running are the open opportunities it provides my mind and body. When I run outside it’s more than a physical workout, it’s a mental release. My emotion sets the pace for my run and it often happens that I finish a run (or any physical workout) feeling, deep down inside, much better than when I started.

I have developed close friendships with many of my running buddies who are as energetic and passionate about life, emotions, and exercise as I am. When we run we are able to hash out everything on our minds – good and bad. It’s like social and active therapy. Whether it’s indoor or outdoor running, find one that suits you and do it for life. Make it a hobby as well as a necessity. And if you like both, then do both! And for those of you who are just starting to run, or who want to and haven’t yet, listen to what your body wants and needs before sticking to one over the other.

One Comment leave one →
  1. mar Hep permalink
    January 16, 2010 2:54 pm

    What type of runner am I? I am a fast runner.

Leave a Reply

